Calling all Innovators: Downstream Awards Nominations Open

The Downstream Awards 2019 will be taking place on 19th November in Houston, Texas to bring together the best of the best in the industry. The deadline to nominate is September 6, 2019.

This exciting opportunity gives petrochemical, refining and LNG players the chance to shine a spotlight on their game-changing tools, technologies and solutions.

2019 has been a pivotal year for the downstream industry. Change, innovation and technology are driving the industry forward. Petrochemical Update believes the unique and pioneering work of the companies within the industry deserves to be recognised, celebrated and shared at an industry awards event.

The Downstream Awards 2019 will be taking place on November 19, 2019 in Houston, Texas to bring together the best of the best in the industry. The event is a unique opportunity to bring teams and clients together for an exceptional networking opportunity teamed with live entertainment and a celebration of the brightest and best in the downstream industry.

The evening will begin with a cocktail reception and entertainment, winners and finalists’ photographs and certificates of commendation for all finalists and winners press.

The deadline for nominations is now September 6, and owner/operators and EPCs can nominate themselves, or be nominated by peers, suppliers or clients in the industry.

“Following the Downstream 2019 event this summer in Houston, we’ve had unprecedented interest in this unique Awards ceremony,” Organizer Jonny Witherspoon said. “With the judging line-up containing an impressive list of impartial Downstream experts, this is an unrivalled opportunity to be recognized for your efforts as a finalist at the gala event of the year in Houston.”

Categories which are being hotly contested by Owner Operators and EPCs for finalist places include:

• Future Industry Leader
• Lifetime Achievement
• Downstream Company of the Year
• EPC of the Year
• Corporate Social Responsibility
• Sustainability & Environmental Stewardship
• Diversity & Inclusion
• Fostering of Innovation in Operations
• Workforce Development
• Health & Safety Initiative of the Year
• Community Partnership Award
• Outside of Industry Innovation
• Supply Chain of the Year
• Project of the Year (Large)
• Project of the Year (Medium - Small)

Four new categories have been added as well: Innovation in Engineering and Construction, Innovation in Reliability and Maintenance, Innovation in Shutdowns and Turnarounds, and Innovation in Supply Chain and Logistics. 

The majority of awards are only open to Owners/Operators (Dow, Chevron, Shell, BASF etc.) except for EPC of the Year, Project of Year (Large), Project of the Year (Medium to Small) these categories can only be entered by EPCs

However, anyone (supplier, contractor, solution provider etc) can nominate on behalf of an Owner/Operator or EPC for one of our awards.

There is a full overview of each of the categories including a summary of the purpose of the award in addition to the criteria here.

An entry needs to be submitted for each category entered. There is no limit on the number of categories that can be entered.

Each submission requires a 50-word summary, a 500-word overview and a 200-word impact assessment.

More details on the event and nominations can be found here.