FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistics Awards – winners announced

The winners of the FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistics Awards have been announced today at a ceremony held at London’s iconic Savoy Hotel.

The ceremony was attended by leading figures from the logistics sector along with representatives from the media, business and government, including a keynote address by Stephen Hammond MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Transport.  This, the UK’s leading Awards programme for women in transport and logistics, was an opportunity to celebrate the female role models who have demonstrated remarkable success, whether in senior management positions, as drivers, or young trailblazers in the early stages of a promising career.


The Freight Transport Association (FTA) is the title partner for the Awards and has supported everywoman and its initiatives since 2008, including the everywoman in Transport and Logistics Leadership Academy and the FTA everywoman Accelerate Programme.  Now in its sixth year, the Awards celebrate women working within the transport and logistics industry who are enjoying success and who will ultimately inspire others to join the sector.


The Transport & Logistics Awards were created by everywoman who identified that there was a need to raise the profile of women in the transport and logistics industry.  The goal of the Awards is to reach out to a younger talent pool, crucial to the economic success of an industry that has a disproportionately ageing workforce.

The winners unveiled today will help to raise the awareness of job seekers that the industry is fast-paced, diverse, challenging and satisfying.


The winners in the FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistics Awards for 2013 are:


Woman of the Year – sponsored by FTA

Jacqui Gavaghan, Performance Director, Reading Transport Limited from Reading


Rising Star of the Year Award – sponsored by Motor Transport

Charlotte Laval, Supplier Performance Service Manager, Wincanton plc from Chippenham


Driver of the Year Award – sponsored by TNT
Shauni O'Neill, Train Operator, London Underground Ltd from London


Director of the Year Award – sponsored by Asda Stores Ltd
Lindsay Haselhurst, Development & Marketing Director, Wincanton plc from Chippenham


The Warehousing Award – sponsored by UKWA
Adele Waite, General Manager - Consumer Life Science Division, DHL Supply Chain from Banbury


Industry Champion Award – sponsored by DHL Supply Chain
Ruth Waring FCILT, Managing Director, Labyrinth Logistics Consulting Ltd from Leamington Spa, Warwickshire


Innovation & Sustainability Award – sponsored by DHL Supply Chain
Danielle Kozlowska, Process Improvement Manager, Stanley Black & Decker from Northampton


Team Leader of the Year Award – sponsored by MAN Truck & Bus
Marion Roberts, Station Manager, Network Rail from London

In addition, in recognition of her commitment to championing the role of women in the industry, Nikki King OBE, Managing Director of Izuzu Truck (UK) was presented with the inaugural Spirit of everywoman Award.


Theo de Pencier, FTA Chief Executive said:


“FTA is exceptionally proud to be the Title Partner of the 2013 everywoman in Transport and Logistics Awards.  Women are an essential part of every aspect of supply chains, from drivers and warehouse staff to transport managers and managing directors.  Industry cannot be passive in attracting women, and the FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistics Awards are the perfect opportunity to showcase how women can make a career in transport a successful and fulfilling one, which is why FTA is delighted to support this event.  FTA is leading by example through the high proportion of female specialists and managers it employs and women also hold key positions in our management team.”


Maxine Benson MBE, co-founder of everywoman, commented:


“The transport and logistics industry in the UK is vast and there are so many opportunities for women with the determination, enthusiasm and passion to succeed.  With transport and logistics becoming an ever-evolving, fast moving, technology-driven industry offering long-term, sustainable careers, it is critical that the women playing an influencing role in shaping and leading this sector should be celebrated.  Today’s winners, boasting a varied skills set, are examples of this - resourceful, pioneering and innovative women who represent the very essence of what makes the industry great.  We are proud to be able to celebrate their achievements and are confident their success will inspire women of all ages, experience and skill levels to bring their talents to the industry.”

comments powered by Disqus