Winner Announced for Inaugural Disrupt Logistics Hackathon

A winner has been announced at eft’s inaugural Disrupt Logistics Hackathon developing a solution looking to tackle the collaboration conundrum (the challenge of collaboration between LSPs and shippers)

30 competitors were joined by mentors Hugh Williams, MD, Hughenden Consulting, Shawn Graves, Vice President, JB Hunt, Kristi Montgommer, VP Innovation, Research and Development, Kenco Management, Eric McGee, SVP Transportation, JB Hunt, John Golob, CEO Lanetix and Tom Madzy, CIO, Seko and tasked with coming up with a product or solution that addressed the collaboration conundrum: the misalignment of collaboration between shippers and their logistics providers.

The 30 competitors were broken into 6 teams and given 5 hours to develop their solution. They then pitched their solutions in front of a judging panel consisting of:

  •  Allan Davis, MD, Dynamo
  • Claudia Knolton-Chike, SVP Supply Chain, Emerald Performance Materials
  • Pat Nolan, VP, C.H. Robinson
  • Jason Tham, CEO, Nulogy
  • Drew McElroy, CEO, Transfix
  • Tommy Barnes, President, Project44
  • Chris Saynor, Founder, eft

'Logistics faces two major challenges right now - innovation, and attracting the best talent. We want Disrupt Logistics to drive the solution to both these challenges forward’ said Haley Garner, Head of Research and Content, eft.

This year’s winning team consisted of Jacob Gariup, Caleb Welchans, Michael MacDonald and Sachin Bhat mentored by Shawn Graves, Vice President, JB Hunt. 

Their solution, DriverAssist helped solve the last-mile challenge of drivers finding parking near their delivery locations. You can click here to learn more about getting involved in the 2017 hackathon.

For more information on the Disrupt Logistics Hackathon, please get in touch with Haley Garner at

comments powered by Disqus